Skip to Content

Nantahala Area

Hydroelectric Relicensing

The Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) has issued all six hydroelectric licenses for the Nantahala area. These licenses kick-start processes for a variety of public recreation and aquatic habitat enhancements for the region. We are implementing the terms of these licenses while awaiting FERC decisions on some outstanding issues.

Between 2000 and 2003, team members invested more than 9,000 hours visiting sites, guiding study needs, reviewing reports and collaborating to address environmental concerns and public recreation needs. The Nantahala and Tuckasegee settlement agreements are key to successfully relicensing the hydro stations. The two legally binding agreements, signed in 2003, are the work of stakeholder teams representing 30 organizations, including Duke Energy.

FERC Projects

Project Number
Bryson Project
Franklin Project
Mission Project
East Fork Project
West Fork Project
Nantahala Project
Queens Project
Visit the links below to learn more about the Nantahala relicensing process, including the array of recreation and environmental enhancements that we expect to initiate under the new licenses.