News Release
April 23, 2003


CHARLOTTE, N.C. - Twenty children of Duke Energy employees have been selected to receive the 2003 Duke Energy scholarships.


Fifteen recipients will receive up to $5,000 per year for up to four consecutive years of undergraduate study at an accredited college or university in the United States or Canada. Five students were named alternates – receiving one-time $1,000 awards.


Recipients are chosen annually by an independent committee of judges. Their selections are based on academics, personal essay, references, community service and demonstrated financial need.


"For the last four decades, our scholarship program has benefited students from the families of employees and retirees,” said Jim Hendricks, vice president of corporate responsibility. “Over time, these students have taken their places in business, academic, religious, civic and other organizations, making our communities better places to live. We are confident that the students in this year's scholarship competition will maintain that tradition.”


The 2003 Duke Energy scholars are:


Kristen A. Arey – South Mecklenburg High School, Charlotte -- daughter of Melvin L. Arey Jr., technical system manager; Duke Energy, Charlotte


Zachary C. Dickerson – Harbor High School, Santa Cruz, Calif. – son of Don V. Dickerson, safety & health specialist; Duke Energy North America (DENA), Moss Landing, Calif.


Grayson R. Downs – Lincolnton High School, Lincolnton, N.C. – son of Jennings L. Wilson, nuclear chemistry specialist; Oconee Nuclear Station, Seneca, S.C.


Katelyn S. Doyle – Riverview High School, Sarasota, Fla. – daughter of Jim E. Doyle, CRI marketing manager; Landmar Group LLC, Jacksonville


Geoffrey T. Edwards – Bryant High School, Bryant, Ark. – son of Mark W. Edwards, senior right of way representative; Duke Energy Gas Transmission (DEGT), North Little Rock, Ark.


Katie F. Glenn – York Comprehensive High School, York, S.C. – daughter of Gary Lee Glenn, nuclear maintenance specialist; Catawba Nuclear Station, York, S.C.


Alexander Miles Hovis – Kings Mountain High School, Kings Mountain, N.C. – son of Lawrence Walter Hovis, Jr., project specialist fleet services; Duke Power, Charlotte


Alexander C. Lemons – South Point High School, Belmont, N.C. – son of Richard C. Lemons, radiation protection scientist; Duke Energy, Charlotte


Jessica N. Lyn – Chatham-Kent Secondary School, Chatham, Ontario, Canada – daughter of Rick Lyn, process & systems development manager; Union Gas, Chatham


Christopher M. Miller – Ogdensburg Free Academy, Ogdensburg, New York – son of Mark R. Miller, senior technical specialist; Catawba Nuclear Station, York, S.C.


Tracy D. Petznick – Watsonville High School, Watsonville, Calif. – daughter of Kenneth J. Petznick, vessel maintenance program manager; DENA, Moss Landing


Bradford A. Russell – Myers Park High School, Charlotte – son of Andy Russell, manager joint use administration; Duke Power, Charlotte


Sarah J. Stroup – Clements High School, Sugar Land, Texas – daughter of Kimberly B. Stroup, senior administrative assistant; DEGT, Houston


Ashley C. Sullivan – Charlotte Christian School, Charlotte – daughter of D. Edwin M. Sullivan, engineering supervisor; Duke Energy, Charlotte


Courtney B. Wilson – Northwest School of the Arts, Charlotte – daughter of William (Bill) E. Wilson, senior technical specialist; Duke Energy, Charlotte


2003 Duke Energy scholars program alternates are:


Heather M. Carroll – North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham – daughter of Michael E. Carroll, engineer; Duke Energy, Charlotte


Amy E. Fitzgerald – Vance High School, Charlotte – daughter of Paul J. Fitzgerald, scientist; McGuire Nuclear Station, Huntersville


Jacqueline N. Otaguro – Hillfield-Strathallan College, Hamilton, Ontario – daughter of Stanley Otaguro, drafter/estimator; Union Gas, Hamilton


Hilary M. Queen – R. J. Reynolds High School, Winston-Salem – daughter of Keith Queen, production manager; Belews Creek Steam Station, Belews Creek, N.C.


Erin L. Winchester – Pickens High School, Pickens, S.C. – daughter of Richard B. Winchester, nuclear operations specialist; Oconee Nuclear Station, Seneca, S.C.


A panel of five judges reviewed applications individually and met in early April to make their final selections. The 2003 scholarship judges were:


·         Andrea Harris, president, North Carolina Institute of Minority Economic Development, Durham


·         Jim Hodges, former governor of South Carolina, currently chief executive officer of Hodges Consulting Group LLC, Columbia, S.C.


·         Craig Ketchum, president and chief executive officer, Red Man Pipe and Supply Company, Tulsa, Okla.


·         David Moreau, professor of city and regional planning, University of North Carolina -- Chapel Hill


·         Dennis Welch, president and chief operating officer, Yankee Gas Services Company, Berlin, Conn.


Each year, graduating high school seniors who are children of employees, retirees or deceased employees of Duke Energy and its subsidiaries may apply for the scholarships. Duke Energy’s community relations department received more than 300 requests for applications for this year’s competition.


Duke Energy is a diversified multinational energy company with an integrated network of energy assets and expertise. The company manages a dynamic portfolio of natural gas and electric supply, delivery and trading businesses – meeting the energy needs of customers throughout North America and in key markets around the world. Duke Energy, headquartered in Charlotte, N.C., is a Fortune 500 company traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol DUK. More information about the company is available on the Internet at:


Contact: Randy Wheeless
Phone: 704/382-8379
24 Hour Phone: 704/382-8333