News Release
May 21, 1998


HOUSTON - - Six daughters and four sons of Duke Energy employees have been selected to receive 1998 W.G. Maguire Scholarships.

Each of the 10 recipients will receive $10,000 over the four-year term of the scholarship. The scholarship program is named for the late W.G. Maguire, one of the Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Company’s founders and its chairman and chief executive officer for more than 20 years.

Receiving the 1998 Maguire Scholarships are:

Adam L. Bryant, son of Danny L. Bryant, utility pipeliner, Nashville Division, Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation (TETCO), Danville, Ky.

Jessica M. Cote, daughter of Cindy A. Cote, senior operations representative, Duke Energy Trading and Marketing, Houston.

Jeremy J. Gray, son of Kane R. Gray, area foreman, Liberal Gathering Division, Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Company (PEPL), Liberal, Kan.

Melinda M. Hall, daughter of Thomas L. Hall, business development account manager, TETCO, Houston.

Allison C. Keyser, daughter of Richard E. Keyser, manager, Baytown Division, TETCO, Baytown, Texas.

Trina S. Krausse, daughter of David V. Krausse (deceased), former manager of gas payments, PEPL, Houston.

Dustin. T. Okerson, son of Terry W. Okerson, controls technician II, Nashville Division, Trunkline Gas Company (TGC), Joppa, Ill.

Gordon M. Riha, son of Randy J. Riha, director of business development, TETCO, Houston.

Elizabeth G. Vance, daughter of Richard D. Vance, MIS technical specialist, Duke Energy Corporation, Houston.

Mia Michelle Yee, daughter of Jun Ki Yee, operations engineer, Texas Eastern Products Pipeline Company, Baytown, Texas.

Chosen as alternates are:

Georgeanne Biancardi, daughter of Paul A. Biancardi, senior counsel, Duke Energy Corporation, Houston.

Allana C. Clarke - Daughter of Allan M. Clarke, senior engineer, Duke Energy Corporation, Houston.

Lisa N. Guidry, daughter of Glen Guidry, division communications technical specialist, Lake Charles Division, TGC, Longville, La.

Casey L. Smith, son of Carl Dean Smith, operator A, Liberal Transmission Division, PEPL, Haven, Kan.

Each year, graduating high school seniors who are sons or daughters of employees or retirees who have at least five years of company service are eligible to apply for the scholarships.

Academic excellence, character and personality evaluation by school faculty members and performance on the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) determine the selections, which are made by an independent committee of judges.

The 1998 scholarship competition judges were: Paul A. Elbert, president and chief executive officer of Consumers Energy; Lawrence A. Ferger, chairman and chief executive officer of Indiana Energy Inc.; Dr. Malcolm Gillis, president of Rice University; Chester R. Messer II, president of Boston Gas Company; and Lawrence M. Downes, chairman and chief executive officer of New Jersey Resources Corporation.

Contact: Media Relations
Phone: (704) 382-8333
24 Hour Phone: (704) 382-8333