News Release
Feb. 16, 1999


Duke Energy Corporation received special recognition Saturday by the Texas Public Relations Association (TPRA) for its exemplary practices in public relations.

Duke Energy is the first recipient of the newly created TPRA Lone Star award. Jim Hart, who for the past 10 years has headed public affairs for Duke Energy’s Houston operations, accepted the award, which recognized his leadership in the public relations profession and for Duke Energy’s support of TPRA. The award was presented as part of TPRA’s annual conference and awards ceremony.

In presenting the award, former TPRA President Laurie Johnson said" the requirements for the Lone Star award emphasize the professionalism, integrity and values that TPRA embodies." The requirements for receiving the Lone Star award include:

Hart also received an individual honor for his leadership as past president of the organization and his support in promoting professional development. TPRA named its annual internship award the James W. Hart, Jr., Intern of the Year award.

In addition to winning the Lone Star Award, Duke Energy also won 12 Best of Texas awards, which recognize outstanding achievement in support of public relations objectives in writing, publications, periodicals, audiovisual and special events. A winning Best of Texas entry demonstrates that the communication tool employed was professionally conceived and produced, and the entry’s rationale and execution led to the desired results in support of a specific public relations objective.

Following are the company’s Best of Texas winning entries.

· Silver; folder; Chris Hedrick, Annette DelBarrio and Betsy Galtney for "Duke Energy Trading & Marketing - Smart Program."

· Silver; two-color periodicals with a circulation of over 2,000; Tom Overton, Sherri Goodson and Dan Dilks for "Duke Directions."

· Silver; feature video; Byron Burnett, Paul Vandenberg and John Pepper for "My Mom - The Rattlesnake Hero."

· Bronze; feature video; Byron Burnett, Paul Vandenberg and Pam Horsman for "Progress Report."

· Bronze; audiovisual interactive; Pam Maxwell for "1997 Duke Energy United Way Intranet Web Site."

· Bronze; publications; Keith Schmidt and Brenda Peters for "1996 TEPPCO Annual Report."

· Bronze; two color periodicals with a circulation of under 2,000; Keith Schmidt and Dan Dilks for "Houston Lines."

· Certificate of Merit; direct mail; Keith Schmidt and Chris Hedrick for "Marketing Update."

· Certificate of Merit; video, other; Laura Lord for "Vision 2000 - Preparing Leaders for the 21st Century."

· Certificate of Merit; public service announcements; Mabel Menefee and the community relations department for "Houston Area ‘Caring Cradles’ Campaign."

· Certificate of Merit; annual report, publicly held companies; Tony Turbeville for "1996 PanEnergy Corp Annual Report."

· Certificate of Merit; annual report, nonprofit; Dan Dilks for "Spaulding for Children 1996 Program & Board Report."

Contact: Randy Wheeless
Phone: 704 382-8379
24 Hour Phone: 704 382-8333